This site is intended for Healthcare Professionals only

RPS election results announced


RPS election results announced

The Royal Pharmaceutical Society has announced the results of this year’s national pharmacy board elections.

The following candidates were elected to the English Pharmacy Board:

  • Claire Anderson (elected for a term of three years)
  • Martin Astbury (three years)
  • Steve Churton (two years)
  • Ciara Duffy (three years)
  • Sue Ladds (three years)
  • Mike Maguire (two years)
  • Tase Oputu (three years)
  • Ankish Patel (two years).

Matthew Prior was elected for one year due to casual vacancy. Tase Oputu will continue as chair.

Seven nominations were received for the eight substantive vacancies on the Scottish Pharmacy Board, meaning the following candidates were elected unopposed:

  • Jonathan Burton (elected for a term of two years)
  • Lucy Dixon (three years)
  • Laura Fulton (three years)
  • Catriona Sinclair (three years)
  • Amina Slimani-Fersia (two years)
  • Richard Strang (two years)
  • Audrey Thompson (three years).

Helen Davies was elected unopposed for the primary care sector vacancy on the Welsh Pharmacy Board, while Rafia Jamil and Geraldine McCaffrey were elected unopposed for the two hospital sector vacancies.

Gareth Hughes and Dylan Jones were elected to the two community pharmacy posts. Aled Roberts and Eleri Schiavone complete the new board in Wales.

    The elected members for all three boards will take office from June 18.

    Turnout in England increased to 10.1 per cent (7.3 per cent in 2023). Turnout in Wales was 19.1 per cent.

    However, according to the election report produced jointly by the RPS and electoral services company Mi-Voice, the number of members eligible to vote in England fell from 18,333 in 2023 to 17,405 in 2024. This suggests a fall in the number of pharmacists in full membership of 928.

    Copy Link copy link button