This site is intended for Healthcare Professionals only

Two pharmacists shortlisted for parliamentary awards

Profession bookmark

Two pharmacists shortlisted for parliamentary awards

Ade Williams

Pharmacists Olutayo Arikawe and Ade Williams have both been nominated by their local MPs for awards in this year's NHS Parliamentary Awards, and have made their respective shortlists, which were published today. 

Olutayo, superintendent pharmacist at the not-for-profit social enterprise Priory Community Pharmacy in Dudley in the West Midlands, was nominated by Ian Austin MP in the Excellence in Healthcare category for her work with patients in one of the most deprived communities in Dudley.

Ade Williams of Bedminster Pharmacy in Bristol has been shortlisted in the Excellence in Primary Care category. Mr Williams was nominated by his MP Karin Smyth MP, who said: “Ade is a great example of a pharmacist who really cares about his community. He keeps in touch with GPs to improve services and is always publicising important health campaigns... Ade’s work, driven by his conviction in the NHS constitution values, is proof that when communities and clinicians work together, irrevocable improvements occur."

Mr Williams is also an ambassador of the Pancreatic Cancer Action and a patient advocate for the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.

The Awards are run by NHS England and NHS Improvement, in partnership with Dods. Winners from the 70 shortlisted finalists in the 10 categories will be announced at a ceremony in Westminster on July 10.

Record my learning outcomes